My Baseball Experience

figgins

Ever since I was a little boy, baseball has been my true love.  I grew up going to Salem Avalanche games and watching/idolizing players like Chone Figgins, Choo Freeman and Matt Holliday among many others.  I was absolutely terrible with a bat in my hand so, thankfully, I was able to live vicariously through them.

In 2003, I opened a pack of baseball cards and received my first Major League Chone Figgins card (pictured above).  That’s when I learned he had been traded to the Angels and, thus, I became an Angels fan.

The release of MVP Baseball 2005 on GameCube only strengthened my love for the game and that Angels team.  That 2005 team still holds a very special place in my heart. Chone Figgins, Big Bad Vlad Guerrero, Garret Anderson, K-Rod, two-thirds of the Molina brothers…

I digress.  In 2014 I took a minimum wage job selling concessions with the Salem Red Sox (formerly the Avalanche).  It’s not a glamorous job but I loved it because I got to work for a baseball team.  Walking into a baseball stadium every day is the best job there is.

I have since made it my goal to be a baseball lifer.  The dream is to work in some capacity for a Major League front office. It’s going to be quite the adventure. To quote  Adam the Woo, “Join me, shall you?”

3 thoughts on “My Baseball Experience

  1. While I don’t give a flip about sports, I love my interestingly diverse and spirited cousin, Joseph. More so, I am looking to see if he shares the strong gift of the written word that so strongly courses through our family genes. Excited to follow your blog, Joe, even if the subject matter is out of my wheelhouse.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

